Exclude Categories from wp-query

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Josh Mason-Barkin 8 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I’m trying to display certain events on my site’s front page using wp-query. It’s working, but not fully the way I need. (Admittedly, though I have lots of experience with wp-query, I’ve never really used tax_query. That may be where I’m getting tripped up.)

I have several Event Categories in use. On the front page, I want to display all “sticky” events except those from three categories (call these “exclude-1,” “exclude-2,” and “exclude-3”). However, if an event has both one of the excluded categories and one of the included (or not excluded) categories, I want it to be displayed.

Here’s an example of how I would do this with regular WP Posts:

<?php
        $frontposts_args = array(
            'post_type' => 'post',
            'post__in'=>get_option('sticky_posts'),
            'post_status' => 'publish',
            'nopaging' => false,
            'order' => 'DESC',
            'orderby' => 'date',
            'cat' => '-35,-220,-145',
            'posts_per_page' => 3,
        )
        ?>
    <?php $frontposts = new WP_Query( $frontposts_args ); ?>
    <?php if ( $frontposts->have_posts() ) : ?>
    <?php while ( $frontposts->have_posts() ) : $frontposts->the_post(); ?>

In this case, posts that are categorized with categories (by ID) 35, 220, and 145 aren’t displayed. Except if I add another category to a post (one that isn’t explicitly excluded), then the post appears. Huzzah!

With Event Categories, I tried doing it like this:

<?php
        $upcoming_args = array(
                  'post_type' => 'event',
                  'post__in'=>get_option('sticky_posts'),
                  'suppress_filters' => false, 
                  'posts_per_page' => 4,
                  'event_end_after' => 'yesterday',
                  'showpastevents' => false,