Shortcode time queries incompatible with recurring events

WordPress Event Management, Calendars & Registration Forums General Question Shortcode time queries incompatible with recurring events

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Stephen Harris 9 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I was really excited about the Event Map shortcode in the Pro version because I planned to use it to make a map that appears on our site when our food truck is out at an event.

That is, I planned on using [event_map starts_before="now" ends_after="now" no_events="Some placeholder stuff here"] so that a map would appear to show where we are, only when we’re out selling. The problem is that I have a recurring event in my calendar. Its first occurrence starts before now, and its last occurrence ends after now, so it will show up, even when no particular occurrence of it is happening. I’m still pretty new at all this, but it seems like this isn’t something I can fix via any of your documented hooks. Is there any way you could change how the queries work so they don’t return an event if none of its individual occurrences match?

Thanks again!
    Yoni

Yoni

Hi Yoni,

The actual attributes should be event_start_before and event_end_after. (The attributes are exactly those supported by the event list shortcode). With the attributes corrected, the query should be only for events which start before now and end after now (i.e. events which are currently running).

Stephen Harris

Sorry, I meant to double-check the specifics before I posted that example, but I had the attributes named correctly on my test page. It still shows a recurring event that isn’t currently running. Turns out this only happens with the event_map shortcode. The eo_events (Events List) shortcode works fine with the same attributes.

Yoni

Hi Yoni,